التحديات

تعتمد أنظمة الإنتاج الفلاحي الأوروبية الحالية بشكل كبير على واردات البروتين لتغطية الاحتياجات الغذائية لتربية الأحياء المائية والحيوانية وكذا الاستهلاك البشري. وينطبق هذا الوضع بشكل خاص على منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط، حيث يؤدي الجفاف والاختلال البيئي إلى تفاقم مشكل الاكتفاء الذاتي لسلاسل التوريد التقليدية للبروتين. لهذه الأسباب، هناك حاجة ملحة لدول الاتحاد الأوروبي لمصادر بروتين بديلة وفعالة وحيوية ومنتجة محليا.

تفاصيل المشروع

الحلول

تنتج معظم الأنظمة الفلاحية كمية كبيرة من الماشية ومخلفات المحاصيل، بالإضافة إلى مجموعة متنوعة من المنتوجات الثانوية.

تشير التقديرات إلى أن %27 من الأنشطة الفلاحية تنتج سنويا حوالي 1.6 مليار طن من الكتلة الحيوية غير المستغلة على الصعيد العالمي، والتي تقدر قيمتها بـ 750 مليار دولار أمريكي. وعلى نحو مماثل، يتم إهدار ثلث الأغذية المنتجة للاستهلاك البشري. وتمثل هذه الخسائر مجموعة كبيرة من الموارد غير المستغلة والمقدرة بأقل من قيمتها الحقيقية.

يهدف المشروع CIPROMED إلى تفعيل مجموعة متكاملة من الطرق بعد التحقق من فعاليتها وتوسيع نطاقها، لاستعادة كمية كبيرة من هذه الكتلة الحيوية. في هذا السياق سيتم انتاج البروتينات من مخلفات الزراعة والصناعة الغذائية (على سبيل المثال، بقايا ومخلفات التقطير، وبقايا البذور الزيتية) والحشرات والطحالب المجهرية والكتلة الحيوية للبقوليات، بينما ستنجح طرق التخمير في تعزيز توافر البروتينات البديلة.

الحلول الممكنة

دمج انتاج البروتينات في أنظمة الإنتاج الحيواني وتربية الأحياء المائية واستخدامها مباشرة من أجل الاستهلاك البشري.
دمج انتاج الحشرات والطحالب المجهرية ومخلفات الصناعات الغذائية والخضر في الغذاء والأعلاف في إطار تعزيز الاقتصاد الدائري.
استخدام تقنيات الاستخلاص والتعديل والتركيب والمعالجة الجديدة لضمان الإنتاج المستدام اقتصاديًا وبيئيًا للبروتينات عالية القيمة.
تعزيز تربية الحشرات كمصدر غذائي بديل واعد لتغذية الحيوانات وجعلها صالحة للاستهلاك البشري.
Legumes like lupins and faba beans are rich in proteins and can be promising sources for food and feed.
استعمال القطاني مثل الترمس والفاصوليا الغنية بالبروتينات كمصادر واعدة للغذاء والأعلاف.
استخدام تقنية التخمير للمساعدة في ضبط وظائف البروتينات وتوفير اقتصاد دائري يوفر فرصا جديدة للشغل.

النتائج والتأثيرات

النتائج المتوقعة

  • يهدف المشروع إلى تقليل اعتماد دول البحر الأبيض المتوسط على مصادر البروتين المستوردة ومساعدة الدول المشاركة على الاعتماد بشكل أكبر على مصادر غذائية منتجة محليًا.

  • يهدف إلى تعديل إنتاج بروتينات جديدة تتوافق مع خصائص دول حوض البحر الأبيض المتوسط، وإنشاء سلسلة قيمة جديدة للبروتين البديل ونظام إنتاج جديد قابل للتطبيق اجتماعيًا واقتصاديًا ومستدامًا بيئيًا في بلدان البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

  • سيتم استنباط تصورات وآراء المستهلكين حول الأنواع الجديدة من الأغذية والأعلاف في منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط، مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أيضًا الخصوصيات الدينية والثقافية والاختلافات الديموغرافية لكل دولة مشاركة في المشروع.

  • يرتكز المشروع على تحسين صحة الإنسان من خلال تصميم وتقييم الأنظمة الغذائية البديلة القائمة على البروتينات والتي تستهدف الجهاز الأيضي والمناعي وتعزيز صحة الإنسان.

على عكس الزراعة التقليدية، فإن إنتاج أنواع الحشرات والطحالب المجهرية غير ذاتية التغذية الأكثر شيوعًا والتي يتم تربيتها باستعمال المنتجات الثانوية يساهم في خفض كبير من انبعاث الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري (أقل بنسبة 30-50٪). وبالتالي، يكون لهذا المشروع تأثير بيئي أقل ويساهم في التقليل من حدة الاحترار العالمي.

سيتعين على دول البحر الأبيض المتوسط أن تتحول إلى أنظمة زراعية ذات استخدام أكثر فعالية للموارد الطبيعية.

يضم ائتلافCIPROMED سبعة عشر شريكًا يمثلون عشرة دول، من بينهم ثمانية شركاء صناعيين وثمانية شركاء يمثلون مؤسسات جامعية و معاهد للبحث. يضم الائتلاف خبراء من ميادين مختلفة تشمل التكنولوجيا الحيوية والزراعة وتربية الأحياء المائية والهندسة الغذائية والإنتاج الغذائي، بشراكة مع المجتمع المدني من خلال الاستغلال الواسع النطاق للنتائج، بهدف ضمان توفير مصادر البروتينات المستردة لتغطية الاحتياجات الغذائية لتربية الأحياء المائية والحيوانية وكذا الاستهلاك البشري داخل المنطقة المتوسطية وخارجها.

CHALLENGE

Current European agricultural production systems heavily depend on protein imports to cover the nutritional needs of aquaculture, livestock production and human consumption. This situation is especially valid for the Mediterranean Region, where drought and ecological deficits are worsening the self-sufficiency of traditional protein supply chains. There is an urgent need for the EU for efficient, viable and locally produced alternative protein sources.

PROJECT DETAILS

Solution

Most agricultural farming systems produce a high quantity of livestock and crop residues, as well as a variety of side-streams.

It is estimated that every year 27% of agricultural production is constituted by non-utilized by product 1.6 billion tons of biomass globally, that has an estimated value of 750 billion US$. Similarly, one-third of all food produced for human consumption is wasted. These losses represent a big pool of untapped and underrated resources.

CIPROMED aims to apply, validate and scale up an integrated array of processes, recovering a significant amount of this biomass.

The use of proteins from agri-industrial side-streams (e.g., brewer’s spent grain, oilseed presscakes), fractions of insects, microalgae and legume biomass will be tested whilst fermentative sources will successfully enhance the availability of alternative proteins.

TYPES OF SOLUTION

Recovered protein concentrates will be integrated with animal production, aquaculture, and used directly for human consumption.
Insects, microalgae, agri-industrial streams, and legumes will be integrated into food and feed based on circular economy attributes.
Extraction, modification, formulation and novel processing techniques will be used to ensure the economically and environmentally sustainable production of high-value proteins.
Insect farming is a promising alternative nutrient source for animal feed and human consumption.
Legumes like lupins and faba beans are rich in proteins and can be promising sources for food and feed.
Microalgal protein has a valuable nutritional amino acid profile and can grow autotrophically, heterotrophically, or mixotrophically using organic carbon sources from agri-food residues.
Fermentation technology can be used to assist in tunning protein functionality and provide operational circular economy attributes.

OUTCOMES & IMPACT

ΕXPECTED OUTCOMES

  • Aims to reduce the dependency of the Mediterranean countries on imported protein sources and will help the participating countries to rely more on locally produced nutrient sources.

  • Aims to adjust novel protein production to the unique Mediterranean conditions, creating a new, socio-economically feasible and environmentally sustainable alternative protein value chain and production system located in Mediterranean countries.

  • Will elicit consumer perceptions/preferences around the new types of foods and feeds in the Mediterranean Region, considering also the unique religious and cultural characteristics and demographic differences of each participating country.

  • Will focus on the improvement of human health by designing and evaluating alternative proteins-based diets that will target metabolic and immune systems and promote human health.

In contrast to conventional agriculture, the production of the most common commercially reared insect and heterotrophic microalgaespecies on by-product feeds is characterised by considerably low GHG emissions (30-50% lower), having, therefore, a lower environmental impact and contribution to global warming.

Mediterranean countries will have to switch to farming systems with more efficient use of natural resources.

The CIPROMED consortium comprises 17 partners from ten countries including eight industrial and eight research partners. CIPROMED brings
together different experts from Biotechnology, Agriculture, Aquaculture, Food Engineering and Food Production, and reaches societies through broad exploitation of the results, aiming at ensuring the availability of recovered protein sources to cover the nutritional needs of aquaculture, livestock production and human consumption within the Mediterranean Region and beyond.